Sign In

Electricity upgrades for small and medium businesses

If you own a small or medium business you may qualify for a free, no-obligation energy assessment and instant rebates of up to 50 per cent off the cost of eligible high-efficiency lighting, controls, refrigeration upgrades and more.

Better yet, one of our local FortisBC-approved contractors will install all the upgrades and then process your rebate instantly.

Eligibility requirements*

  1. You must be a FortisBC or municipal** commercial electricity customer.
  2. You must be an owner or long-term leaseholder of an existing commercial property.
  3. You must consume a minimum of 12,000 kilowatt hours (kWh) of electricity per year.

*You can find a complete list of requirements under the terms and conditions.
**Grand Forks, Penticton, Summerland and Nelson Hydro.

Available rebates

A FortisBC-approved contractor will perform a free energy assessment and recommend energy-efficiency upgrades appropriate for your business. Some of the eligible upgrades include:

​Upgrade ​Rebate
LED interior and exterior lamps and fixtures ​$0.15 per annual kWh of projected electricity savings, up to 50% of installed cost ​ ​ ​
Lighting controls
Programmable thermostats
HVAC variable speed drives
Smart plug power strips
Commercial refrigeration display case electrically commuted motors
Commercial refrigeration walk-in electrically commuted motors
Commercial refrigeration display case motion sensor
Commercial refrigeration anti-sweat heater controls
Commercial refrigeration display case night covers
Commercial refrigeration LED lighting
Electric pressureless steamers
Electric convection ovens
Electric hot food holding cabins
Demand control kitchen ventilation
ENERGY STAR griddles
Efficient commercial pool pumps

Customers with natural gas water heating may also qualify for:

​Upgrade ​Rebate
​Kitchen faucet aerators ​$10 per aerator
​Bathroom faucet aerators ​$10 per aerator
​Commercial kitchen pre-rinse spray valves ​$111 per valve

Additional upgrade products are eligible for rebates. Contact us to learn more.

How to apply

  1. Review the terms and conditions.
  2. Products must be purchased between January 1, 2016, and December 31, 2017, and application must be received by FortisBC no later than April 30, 2018.
  3. Call us at 1-778-945-1373 or email directinstall@fortisbc.com and we’ll connect you with a FortisBC-approved contractor in your area. 
  4. The contractor will schedule your energy assessment. 
  5. Upon completion of the assessment, the contractor will provide you with a proposal detailing the recommended upgrades. 
  6. If you decide to proceed with the upgrades, sign the proposal provided by the contractor. 
  7. Within 60 days of signing the proposal agreement, the contractor will install the upgrades and process your rebate at the time of payment.  
Approved contractors
​City Company ​Phone Email Recognition Status Level
Aldergrove Chris Sign's 604-530-1199 kevin@chris-signs.com Approved Contractor
Castlegar Power Up Electrical 250-505-5778 estimates@powerupelectrical.ca Approved Contractor
Castlegar Martech Electrical Systems 250-365-2115 steph.pelletier@martechelectrical.com Gold
Castlegar ADM Electric Ltd. 250-304-8262 adm.electric@telus.net Approved Contractor
Creston Mad Dog Electrical & Construction 250-402-9006 maddogelectrical@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Creston Mayday Electric Ltd. 250-428-5260 maydayelectric18@gmail.com Silver
Fruitvale Power Tech Electric 250-231-0227 ptelec@telus.net Approved Contractor
Genelle Monashee Electric 250-365-9676 monashee@monashee.net Approved Contractor
Grand Forks Cascade Pro Electric 250-442-7573 greg@cascadepro.ca Approved Contractor
Grand Forks Boundary Electrical Ltd. 250-442-7729 kaare@boundaryelectric.com Approved Contractor
Grand Forks Marker Electric 250-442-7338 contact@markerelectric.com Approved Contractor
Grand Forks Redi Electric Ltd. 250-443-9373 brent@redielectric.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Big and Small Electric 250-863-3848 small@telus.net Silver
Kelowna Kimco Controls 250-859-0200 doug.kesslar@kimcocontrols.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Kruegar Electric 250-860-3905 cheryl@kruegerelectric.com Approved Contractor
Kelowna Houle Electric 250-859-2998 rdavies@houle.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Hotwire Electric 250-470-9847 rob@hotwireelectric.ca Gold
Kelowna Keldon Electrical Ltd. 250-469-2122 service@keldonelectric.com Approved Contractor
Kelowna Horizon Electric 250-861-4777 service@horizonelectric.net Approved Contractor
Kelowna Signcraft 250-491-8600 troy@signcraft.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Prospect Electric Ltd. 250-878-1141 prospect-ward@shaw.ca,
prospect-dan@shaw.ca
Approved Contractor
Kelowna Britech HVAC 250-765-4446 sales@britechhvac.com Approved Contractor
Kelowna DuoTeck Electrical Ltd. 778-753-5700 brent@duoteck.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna East Kelowna Electric and Handyman Services 250-215-9134 ekehs@telus.net Gold
Kelowna Project Electric Inc. 778-581-1822 info@projectelectric.com Approved Contractor
Kelowna Demic Electric 250-300-3890 ddemic@demicelectrical.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Erickson Electric Application 250-212-9321 richard.erickson@shaw.ca Approved Contractor
Kelowna Sun Valley Electric 250-860-4402 admin@sunvalleyelectric.ca Approved Contractor
Lake Country Omid Electric 250-979-8339 omidelectricltd@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Naramata RMF Electrical Contracting Ltd. 250-496-0003 rmf.electrical@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Nelson Bergevin Electrical Contractor Ltd. 250-354-9733 eli@bergevinelectric.com Approved Contractor
Nelson Kootenay Lake Electric 250-352-6799 service@kle.ca Approved Contractor
Nelson Turlock Electric 250-227-9688 brandon@turlockelectric.ca Approved Contractor
Oliver Argon Electrical & Solar Services 250-498-9257 dean@argonelectrical.ca; dave@argonsolar.ca Silver
Osoyoos Lowther Electric Ltd. 250-428-1308 lowtherelectric@gmail.com Gold
Peachland Inter-Valley Electric 250-212-5622 ivelec@shaw.ca Approved Contractor
Penticton Betts Electric 250-328-9904 info@bettselectric.com; cameron@bettselectric.com Silver
Penticton Dettling Electric Ltd. 250-492-4500 dettlingelectric@gmail.com Gold
Penticton Eckert Electric 250-492-8001 kelowna@eckertelectric.com Gold
Penticton Inland Pacific Electric 250-492-0005 mikewiltse@shaw.ca Approved Contractor
Penticton G. Little Electric Ltd. 250-809-7009 aaron@glittle.ca Approved Contractor
Penticton Loewen Electrical 250-462-8648 loewenelectrical@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Penticton OK Proteck Electric Ltd. 250-462-6045 jason@okproteck.ca Approved Contractor
Penticton Mavco Plumbing & Heating Ltd. 250-493-7956 jay@mavco.ca Approved Contractor
Penticton Vintage Electric and Services 250-809-2639 jason@vintageelectricbc.com Approved Contractor
Princeton Hayes Creek Electric 250-295-7440 hayescreekelectric@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Summerland Verity Electrical Contracting 250-486-6000 admin@verityelectrical.com Approved Contractor
Surrey Cobra Electric (South Coast) Ltd. 250-830-6068 wayne@cobraelectric.com Approved Contractor
Trail Kootenay A Plus Systems 250-368-9253 wayne@apluselectric.ca Approved Contractor
Trail Warfield Electric 250-368-9473 warfieldwire@gmail.com Approved Contractor
Vancouver Worldwide Electric 604-715-3211 worldwideelectric@shaw.ca Approved Contractor
Vancouver Relight Solutions 604-616-8560 dan@relightsolutions.com Approved Contractor
Vernon Accent LED Lighting 250-309-4298 brad@accentledlighting.com Approved Contractor
West Kelowna Beresford Electric 250-862-6482 blake@beresfordelectric.ca Approved Contractor
West Kelowna Bob Herron Electric 250-769-5888 bherron1@telus.net Approved Contractor
Wynndel Wynndel Electric 250-428-1757 aaron@wynndelelectric.com Approved Contractor

 

Recognition Level

Platinum: Assisted customers with >1 GWh in savings through the Business Direct Install program in 2016/2017
Gold: Completed a minimum of 8 projects through the Business Direct Install program in 2016/2017
Silver: Completed a minimum of 5 projects through the Business Direct Install program in 2016/2017
Approved: Eligible to provide rebates to customers through the Business Direct Install program

Looking for more rebates?

Save money when upgrading irrigation, compressed air and HVAC equipment and commercial pool pumps.

Questions?

For more information, call us at 1-778-945-1373 or email directinstall@fortisbc.com.

Are you an electrical contractor?

If you’re an electrical contractor in the Okanagan Similkameen, Kelowna or Central and West Kootenays and are interested in becoming a FortisBC-approved contractor for the Business Direct Install Program, call us at 1-778-945-1373 or email directinstall@fortisbc.com.